St Patrick's R C Primary School

Learn. Grow. Shine.

Reception Curriculum

Reception Class

EYFS Intent Statement click HERE

In our Reception class, pupils follow the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Overarching principles of the EYFS Framework

There are four guiding principles that shape practice in our Reception class.  These are:

  1. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  2. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  3. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/ or carers; and
  4. Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.


The Areas of Learning and Development of the EYFS Framework

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our educational Programme in our school setting.  All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.  These areas are crucial for creating curiosity and an enthusiasm for learning, and for building the capacity to learn, build relationships and thrive.

The Prime areas are:

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children are also supported in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The Specific areas are:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design