St Patrick's R C Primary School


St Patrick’s Governors

Governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities.

The Governing Board of St Patrick’s consists of 2 parent governors, 1 local authority governor, 1 staff governor, 1 head teacher and 7 foundation governors.  The total number of governors outlined in the instrument of government is 12.

Name of Governor Date of Appointment


Term of Office

Appointed by
Mr Michael Coyne


Chair of the Governing Board

LA Governor

18/1/2019 – 17/1/2023 Local Authority
Mrs Paula Daubney


Vice Chair

Foundation Governor

11/03/2019 – 10/03/2023 Diocese
Reverend Father P A Nathaniel


Parish Priest


Mrs Liz Hindley



Miss Rebecca A Young


Foundation Governor

1/10/2015-30/9/2023 Diocese
Mr Paul Cairns


Foundation Governor

22/8/2018-21/8/2022 Diocese
Mrs Rosemary Doran


Foundation Governor

10/9/2020-09/09/2024 Diocese
Mr Andrea Castoro


Foundation Governor

08/10/2021-07/10/2025 Diocese
Mrs Lauren Stevenson


Staff Governor

17/11/2021-16/11/2025 Staff Election
Mr Steven De-Nobrega


Parent Governor

4/11/2020 – 3/11/2024 Parent Election
Mr Dave Gorman


Foundation Governor

19/09/2017 – 18/09/2022 Diocese
Mr Nigel Walker


Parent Governor

17/12/2021 – 16/12/2025 Parent Election


Name of Governor Relevant Business/Financial Interests/Other Governance Material Interests/Relationships
Mr Michael Coyne None None
Miss Rebecca A Young None None
Mr Dave Gorman None None
Mr Paul Cairns
Mrs Liz Hindley Governor at St. Cecilia’s RC High School None
Mrs Paula Daubney None None
Reverend Father P A Nathaniel None None
Mr Steven DeNobrega None None
Mrs Rosemary Doran None None
Mr Andrea Castoro None None
Mrs Lauren Stevenson None None
Mr Nigel Walker None None


Committee Members
Curriculum Miss Rebecca A Young (Chair)


Mr Steven De Nobrega

Mr Dave Gorman

Mrs Liz Hindley

Mrs Paula Daubney

Resources Mr Michael Coyne (Chair)


Mr Paul Cairns

Mr Dave Gorman

Mrs Liz Hindley

Mrs Rosemary Doran

Mrs Claire Scanlan (School Business Manager – Observer)

Pay Committee Mrs Paula Daubney (Chair) Mr. Paul Cairns, Mr. Dave Gorman
Headteacher Appraisal Committee Vacancy (Chair), Miss Rebecca A Young, Mr. Michael Coyne and Mrs Sarah Sadler (School Adviser)


Name of Governor Committee / Links
Miss Rebecca A Young Curriculum, HT Appraisal, RE Link
Mr Michael Coyne Resources, HT Appraisal, Health & Safety Link
Mr Dave Gorman Curriculum, Resources, Pay Committee, Training Link
Mr Paul Cairns Pupil Premium
Mrs Liz Hindley Curriculum, Resources, SEC
Mrs Paula Daubney Curriculum, Pay Committee
Reverend Father P A Nathaniel Parish Priest
Mrs Rosemary Doran SEC, Resources, Curriculum
Mr Steven DeNobrega Website
Mr Andrea Castoro TBA
Mrs Lauren Stevenson TBA
Mr Nigel Walker TBA

Every school has a governing board; the purpose and roles of governing boards are to help schools provide the best possible education for their pupils by:

  • Setting the school’s values, vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies and making creative use of resources.
  • Monitoring and evaluating performance and providing support and challenge to the headteacher in managing the school,
  • Ensuring that the school is accountable to: the children and parents it serves, its local community, those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs.

Types of Governors

There are different types of governors; all governors have equal status; this is to ensure that the governing board of a school reflects a wide range of groups from the community.  The different categories of governors are:

Parent Governors : are self nominated and in the case of more than one applicant, are voted for by parents.

Staff Governors : include the Head teacher, teaching and non-teaching staff.  With the exception of the Head teacher, staff governors are elected by the staff of the school.

Local Authority Governors : nominated by the local authority that maintains the school, they keep in touch with the Local Authority who nominated them

Foundation Governors– are appointed by the Bishop and Trustees of the Diocese they may be nominated by the Parish Priest. Foundation governors have an important role which is to uphold the Catholic ethos of the school and are always in the majority in a Catholic school.

St. Patrick’s governing board is made up of a wide range of people from varying backgrounds and professions.  Each Governor has different roles and may sit on more than one subcommittee.  The full Governing board meets every term and relies on the various sub committees to advise their decisions. Our sub committees include: Resources, Standards and Effectiveness, Curriculum, Pay, Staff Grievance, Pay Appeals, Complaints Review, Admissions, Pupil Discipline, Staff Attendance Discipline and Dismissal, and Headteacher Appraisal.


Please refer to the attached documents for additional information about the composition of the committees, terms of reference, code of conduct and instrument of government.

 CES_Model_Governors_Code_of_Conduct_for_Governors_in_VA_Schools (1).pdfDownload
 Instrument-of-Government (1).pdfDownload
 Previous-Governors-updated-2022 (1).pdfDownload
Showing 1-3 of 3